Charly Bliss Announce First Album in Five Years, Share Video for New Song

Charly Bliss have announced their first new album in five years: Forever, the follow-up to 2019’s Young Enough, arrives August 16 via Lucky Number. The power-pop band has shared its lead single, “Nineteen,” along with a Henry Kaplan–directed music video that captures the band participating in a cross-country race in various ways. Watch it below.

“I’ll always be fascinated by love and relationships that don’t quite work and bring tsunamis of heartbreak,” singer Eva Hendricks said when discussing the new single. “The further away I am from it, the kind of love that bashes you against the rocks just as often as it carries you over waves of manic joy, the easier it is to see the full scope of it. First love is crazy.”

Forever is the third full-length LP of Charly Bliss’ career. Produced by Hippo Campus’ Jake Luppen and Samia’s Caleb Wright, the album was created with a simple directive in mind: “It has to be fun.” The band’s last records, sophomore album Young Enough and the Supermoon EP, both came out in 2019.

Last year, Charly Bliss released the standalone singles “You Don’t Even Know Me Anymore” and “I Need a New Boyfriend,” neither of which appear on Forever. They also recorded the holiday single “It’s Christmas and I Fucking Miss You” with PUP in 2020.

Read about Young Enough in Pitchfork’s list of “The Best Rock Albums of 2019.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


01 Tragic
02 Calling You Out
03 Back There Now
04 Nineteen
05 In Your Bed
06 I’m Not Dead
07 How Do You Do It
08 I Don’t Know Anything
09 Here Comes the Darkness
10 Waiting for You
11 Easy to Love You
12 Last First Kiss